muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

Dexcom

on May 3, 2014

Two posts in one day??!!! Who’d of thought!! But, I just have to share my experience with a new piece of T1D technology.

Drum roll please!!!!

On March 27,2014, I switched over to the Dexcom CGM!!!! Now, keep in mind this is just my experiences with the two different CGM systems. Your experience may vary & probably will.

I had been on Medtronoics CGM for just under a year when I finally got sick of my inaccurate & very annoying CGM. My Medtronics transmitter was just out of warranty, so I decided to switch to the Dexcom CGM & I haven’t looked back!! I LOVE IT!!!! I thought I wouldn’t like carrying the extra piece of technology but it’s not too bad, especially since it gives me great, accurate & up to date information that I used to make my T1D management easier! (And no, I’m too chicken to treat off of number I get from Dex!! It would be just my luck that the time I did treat based on Dex that it would be inaccurate.) I got a Tally Gear case (TallyGear.com) & clip it to my waist & I’m good to go. I know many others who use Dexcom just leave the receiver in her purse or his pocket but I’m terrified I’m going to lose this expensive piece of technology if it’s not attached to me.

In the month that I have been using it, I become more delighted everyday with how accurate it is and how I NEVER get a nuisance alarm (at least not so far)!! My Medtronics CGM was always alarming telling me I was high or low but when I checked with my meter, I was neither. This is especially annoying in the middle of the night and especially frustrating when it happens multiple times during the night. So far, every time my Dexcom alarms during the night it has been spot on accurate!!

As far as Dexcom Studio, the software to evaluate the data from Dex, goes, I’m not too sure I like it compared to Carelink. Maybe I’m just not used to it though, so I really shouldn’t dis it until I know more about it & how to use it. I do LOVE Carelink, though. I’m anxious for the Dexcom to become integrated though, so all of the reports are together & on one graph instead of switching between the two programs.

I did really like the Medtronics integrated system & the cool features like threshold suspend but what good are they when they are always or more often than not, inaccurate!! I’m very happy I made the stitch to Dexcom. Now, if they could just integrate it into a pump!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

(Buzz, Buzz) Not My Cell

This is just me blogging randomly about life, all things D, but other junk as well.

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

because my pancreas doesn't work

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

