muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

Surgical Type 1 Diabetes

on May 3, 2014

Happy Saturday!!!

Lately I’ve been partaking of all the DOC (Diabetes Online Community) has to offer, blog-wise. I’ve even subscribed to many of them. But even with all the STELLAR blogs highlighting life with any type of diabetes, & believe me there are TONS of excellent diabetes advocacy blogs out there,  I feel like I don’t belong in the DOC.  This is mostly because of how I came to have type 1 diabetes (T1D).

As I have mentioned before,  on February 8, 2013, at Massachusetts General Hospital, Keith Lillemoe, MD removed what was left of my pancreas after my Whipple procedure in 1994 & James Markmann, MD & team attempted an islet cell transplant, which unfortunately failed…miserably, I might add. So, I am classified as a “surgical type one person with diabetes”. This means I’m not a “classic” T1D. I have many of the characteristics of T1D but not all. So, as I read T1D blogs, not everything applies to my “kind” of diabetes. The phrase “your diabetes may vary” is certainly true for me! This has left me searching for other Surgical T1D’s to communicate with & share my story, as well as, hear her or his story. I’ve been unsuccessful in finding a diabetes blog that is aimed specifically to surgical persons with diabetes. As a result, I’ve decided to create that blog with hopes of connecting to others with similar diabetes due to a pancreatectomy.

One way in which my diabetes is different is I very rarely spill ketones even with a super high blood glucose. Also, I don’t make any glucagon in my pancreas because…well, because I don’t have a pancreas. Not to mention I don’t make digestive enzymes either.

I know you’re out there!!! Please be out there!! I feel like a T1D fraud participating in the DOC where I have been nothing but graciously accepted, but I’m yearning for more. I’m still learning about how my version of diabetes varies from the classic T1D, so I can’t give too many details about how my diabetes is different, but stay tuned & we’ll become educated together as we explore our diabetes world.

Enjoy this beautiful spring weekend & remember…TEST, DON’T GUESS!!!!!

 

 

PS: please bear with me as I learn to navigate this blogging world. It’s very new to me. I apologize for any grammatical errors. I got a C in high school English, so I’m not the best at grammar & spelling (thank God for spell check!!). I’ll try very hard not too make too many errors but I can’t promise anything.

 

Also, even though I am an RN, this blog is in no way giving medical advice. Please contact your healthcare provider with questions about your treatment plan & diabetes management. I’m just sharing my life with T1D in the hopes of touching someone & letting her or him know that none of us is alone. We can do this together!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

25 year old T1D of 10+ years

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

