muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

Sorry but life got in the way!!

on May 20, 2014

I’m sorry I got behind in my Blog Week 2014 posts. I’m going to use a wild card post & talk about a device that helps me manage from day to day. This is to replace the regular Friday post.

Actually, I consider my Medtronic’s pump & my dexcom a device team. I call them “Daisy & Dex”!  I know not very creative on the Dexcom name but Dex is so easy. Daisies are my favorite flower & my pump is my favorite tool (before the partnership with Dex came along), so it was an easy transition to calling my pump “Daisy”.

I use both of my devices frequently thruout my day to make my diabetes management much easier. As I’ve mentioned before, MDI was a nightmare for me. It’s so easy to glance at my Dex if I’m feeling a bit off , heading out for a walk or exercise or I’m planning on driving to see what my trending BG is. I NEVER drive without checking Dex nor do I exercise without a peek at Dex either. I always check with my meter too, so maybe I should call Daisy, Dex & my meter my Diabetes Triplets. I could never survive not knowing what my number means in the trending scheme of things!! (I haven’t named my meter, sadly! Any suggestions??) I’m a girl that perpetually follows the rules, so I never dose or treat based on Dex’s numbers, even though he’s very trustworthy!!

My sewing buddies whom I travel about an hour to see & spend time with, always ask what my BG is doing before I head out the door to travel home. They’ve gotten used to me checking frequently & are very involved in my management when we’re together. I LOVE them for that. Especially when we go away (Toronto anyone??!!) one of the girls carries my glucagon, Just in case. The girls also, have a good sense of humor considering my glucose management!! Like, they wanted to know what the difference between a normal, weird me is compared to a low glucose weird me!!! I really love that they care enough to ask me if I’ve checked my BG and equally important, if I’ve bloused for a snack that we indulge in on a regular basis!! (Thanks girls for all the LOVE!!!) Anyone for Smarties??!

So I guess my, my pump, Dexcom & meter help me manage from day to day, but the people that love me help equally as much. I’m blessed to be surrounded by the people I have in my life. Also, FYI, I can’t get a kiss good night from hubby unless I report my BG, the trend  & what I have done or am going to do about it!! Then I’m rewarded with my goodnight kiss. We’ve been together for 30 yrs this June, before and after T1D and I couldn’t be more proud of him (& my son!!)!!

Who in your life keeps you on your diabetes toes??!!

Remember, Test. Don’t Guess!!!

Leave a Reply

(Buzz, Buzz) Not My Cell

This is just me blogging randomly about life, all things D, but other junk as well.

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

because my pancreas doesn't work

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

