muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

Glu CGM and panel discussion event

on May 29, 2014

Wow!! I went to my first T1D Exchange: Glu event last night and it was fantastic!! It was held at the Glu office in downtown Boston. It was easy for me to get to as I was only coming from the South Shore. Just a relatively quick ride on the T and then a quick walk to their office.

When I first walked in, I was greeted by GluAnna & GluBill-that’s Anna Floreen and Bill Woods. I couldn’t believe it. I had read their stuff being a member of Glu already and I’ve seen all of Bill’s videos on youtube, but to see both of them in person??? I was a little star-struck you could say. They were very gracious in welcoming me to the event. But talk about star-struck!! I couldn’t believe it when Kerri Sparling walked into the room!! I had NEVER thought that I would ever meet any of these people in person. But they were the people that guided me when I was first diagnosed. Of course, they didn’t know they were guiding me but their online presence was a comfort to me as I was trying to figure out this “Daily Guessing Game”. I firmly believe in the power of the Diabetes Online Community (DOC).

Back to the event. There was a light supper offered with lots of yummy sandwiches and both lettuce & fruit salads, plus carb free drinks. I was psyched about the drinks because I HATE to waste my carbs by drinking them. Drinking carbs does not fill me up and they jack my BG up quickly. Plus, it stays high for what seems like hours after, even if I prebolus. Nope!! I like to eat my carbs!! (Oops!! Sorry, digressing again.)

There was some mingling before the talk that provided a rare opportunity for me to just chat with another T1D’s!! It was amazing to see all of these people in this room and know almost all of us had T1D or knew someone that did. These people could relate in a way to what I have experienced and continue to experience that I have never experienced before. (Alright, that’s a lot of the word experience but you get my point.) Then Bill Woods  and Anna Floreen took the floor with a overview of what Glu is and does for the T1D community. It was very informative and interesting. I learned a great deal about Glu. I was misinformed that they were just this online community of people. I didn’t know they had an actual brick & mortar office and that its in my neck of the woods!! Plus, all they do to aid research projects and collect data from the PWD living with this disease to help devise research projects, at least that was my understanding.

Then it was time for Dexcom’s presentation: CGM-Today, Tomorrow and the Future. I apologize that I don’t have the names of the sales reps that gave this great talk. It was unbelievable to see the accuracy stats on the Dexcom and what they have in development right now. Some exciting products and innovations are coming up soon. Stay tuned!!

Following Dexcom was a panel discussion featuring, Luanne Gable, mom of a daughter with T1D, Anna Floreen, T1D & THE GluAnna, Scott Olnick, T1D from Tandem but representing himself and not Tandem, and Kerri Sparling with Bill Wood, GluBill moderating. (I apologize if I got the spelling wrong on anyone’s name! I admit I got so caught up in the talking with other T1D’s, I didn’t remember to check the spelling of their names until I was on the train back home. So sorry!!) There were many topics covered about living with T1D, including:would you rather give up your CGM or your pump if you had to choose; what adhesive works best for you; differences between the CGM’s available on the market today, specifically Medtronics and Dexcom and PWD’s experiences with CGM accuracy and range of the transmitter to receiver. Lots of great points were raised and a lively discussion ensued.

It ended at about 8:00PM & the networking began. I met all kinds of people from all walks of life and I can honestly say, I was thrilled to do so. I meandered out at about 8:30PM and I was so sad to go. I’m seriously considering if I can make it to Friends For Life in Orlando Florida in July.That would be an amazing experience. (There’s that word again!)

I really want to thank Glu and the T1D Exchange for hosting the event, Dexcom for the great presentation and the panelists for their insight into their experiences with T1D. It was an awesome opportunity and I didn’t fully expect to feel as great as I did about being in the room with all those PWD.

 

Remember, TEST. Don’t Guess.

Leave a Reply

(Buzz, Buzz) Not My Cell

This is just me blogging randomly about life, all things D, but other junk as well.

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

because my pancreas doesn't work

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

