muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

Experimenting with different ways to wear my pump.

on June 2, 2014

Guys, I apologize in advance. This may get boring as it’s about dresses and the pump.

I like to wear dresses in the summer. I find them much easier to wear than shorts. Last summer was my first summer with T1D and wearing a pump, so it took a bit to figure out how to wear my pump. But, being an avid sewer, I just take a few stitches out of one side seam which makes a hole big enough for the connector end of my infusion set to slide through. Then I can put my pump on the belt around my waist. (According to Clinton Kelly from What Not To Wear, due to having a rectangular figure, I should always wear a belt to define my waist)

This year, I’ve gotten a couple of really nice dresses that I’m afraid to mess with any of the side seams. I’d probably be ok, but I’m afraid of ruining them. (It would just be my luck if the whole side came unraveled from the few stitches I removed!!) So, I searched the internet to find out what other girls have done. I found DiabeticDanica on youtube.com. Check her out if you haven’t already She has many videos on living with T1D. She did a great video on different ways to wear your pump among the many.

After having watched this DiabeticDanica video, I had bought a pair of yoga/sports shorts from Lululemon.com that have a small pocket in the waistband just big enough for my pump. So, yesterday I wore the shorts under my new dress with my pump safely tucked away in the waistband pocket. Situation solved!! Or so I thought. I quickly grew weary of going to the restroom each time I needed to bolus.

I had also bought a couple of pump bands from pumpwear.com, a great pump accessories company that puts the fun in functional for both children and adults with pumps. But unfortunately the bands didn’t fit. Now I probably could have made my own bands from the beginning but I was being lazy and I wanted to see how the experts did it so I didn’t have to reinvent the wheel. I did decide to take apart and adjust the thigh band that was too big and I was able to stitch it up into a band that was custom fit to me. It’s now perfect. Only one problem is the band fits great and is snug on my thigh, however, the weight of the pump causes it to s-l-o-w-l-y slip down my leg. But there’s an easy fix…just pull it up…only to have it s-l-o-w-l-y slip back down!! I guess I have to decide which is more tolerable, going to the restroom to bolus or to repeatedly pull up the band. I guess it will depend on the event.

I’ll figure it out. I just want to share my experience with what works and what doesn’t. Where else have you worn your pump?? Ladies, have you tried to wear your pump in your bra?? Is that comfortable?? Guys, where do you put your pump when wearing a suit or summer attire?? Again, I apologize to the men if this post was boring.

And, I recently figured out I have been saying, Test! Don’t guess! But in a recent post I mentioned I don’t say test so there is no measure of failure or success with blood testing. So, I should and will from now on say…Check!!! Don’t Guess!! Have a GREAT Monday!!

Leave a Reply

(Buzz, Buzz) Not My Cell

This is just me blogging randomly about life, all things D, but other junk as well.

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

because my pancreas doesn't work

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

