muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

Hospitalization used as an opportunity to complete basal testing.

on June 17, 2014

Every now and then, my “new normal”, the results of having had a total pancreatectomy, rises up and makes themselves the center of my attention. I occasionally experience significant abdominal pain, nausea and vomiting, but after a few days inpatient, my symptoms subside & I can resume my daily life activities in my own home. I also need to use jejunostomy tube feeding (to supplement what I am able to eat by mouth) every night. When I’m having a flare of my worst symptoms, I cannot infuse my tube feeding nor can I eat anything orally. So, this usually requires that I get admitted to my local teaching hospital for what I call a “tune up”. This means I get IV fluids and medications to alleviate my symptoms until they back off and let me resume my life.

As one can imagine, I dislike being in the hospital. The smells, becoming dependent on the nurse of the day for all your care and for her/him to communicate for you to the doctor. And, in today’s medical world, I’m never admitted to my own doctor because they now have what’s called a hospitalist whose job it is to care for folks like me in the hospital. They don’t see people outpatient in an office because their office is the hospital floors. Kind of like the TV character, House, MD. So, not only am I feeling like crap, I then have to relay my story to this new person whom I don’t know and she/he doesn’t know me AT ALL. So that fact lends itself to all kinds of anxiety, like, will she/he really understand what is going on with me. And, usually 9 times out of 10, the hospitalist tries to reinvent the wheel, meaning I have to repeat medications I’ve already tried because this new doctor thinks his way will be more successful than the last doctor’s way. And I have had to repeat diagnostic testing more times than I can count because if you tick off a doctor by telling her/him no, that brings up a whole set of problems I don’t have the time nor the inclination to get into. That’s a whole other topic to post about.  Suffice it to say, I try to play nice with the new hospitalist no matter how much of an a$$ she/he is.

During a recent admission, I had the pleasure of being cared for by my own endo and his nurse practitioner. For some reason, my admission coincided with their on call schedule. I was delighted, to say the least, as I was having a difficult time with (according to my Dexcom Studio software)  spending 75-80% of the day higher than my target range. Which means I was feeling like crap 75-80% of the time.  So, we used this admission as a glorified basal testing grounds. I was taking nothing by mouth and my tube feeding were being held until my symptoms resolved, so I was going to be able to see what my BG’s did all by themselves without the added food.

I kept detailed BG records (what else did I have to do?! Did I mention I don’t enjoy day time television? OK, truth be told, I’m a sucker for “Kelly and Michael” but that’s it I swear!! Oh no, wait! Kind of enjoy “Kathy Lee and Hoda” but nothing else. Hmmmm, seems I forgot to mention the “Chew”. What?? I’m trying to learn how to cook but, this time I pinky swear, nothing else. I was too busy recording blood sugars!! But I digress.) I welcomed a purpose to my admission, especially if it was going to help me on the outside, as well as, help me feel better day to day. My NP, CDE (nurse practitioner and certified diabetic educator) came by usually at the end of the day and we reviewed my logs. We discovered I need to add a second basal at night for both scenarios of when I’m infusing and the nights I don’t. My basal, or continuous insulin needs are different at different times of the day, which is a very common scenario. During the day I need a higher rate than on the nights I don’t infuse (usually because I’m having a problem with abdominal pain, nausea and vomiting) and on the nights I do infuse, I need a higher rate than I even need during the day due to the increased continuous infusion of carbs (carbohydrates). We slowly tweaked the rates increasing from my old settings by 0.025 units of insulin per hour at the different times of each day and finally came up with my new rates.  I’m happy to say that so far, so good!! I know it’s only been a couple of days but already my BG’s are trending within my target range!! Woo Hoo!! Take that, diabetes!!

I have to say that I’ve been able to make such small increments in my insulin doses thanks to one of the triplets of my D technology…my Medtronics 530 G insulin pump, named Daisy ( the other two being my Dexcom and my BG meter). This never would have been possible when I was on MDI (multiple daily injections). So, I’m, as always, grateful to have access to this amazing D technology!!

I’m usually a positive type of person but being admitted to the hospital with pain especially is no fun, so I was happy to be distracted a little from my symptoms by trying to figure out how to decrease these persistent highs I had been having.  Generally, I HATE keeping written logs!! I rely heavily on Carelink & Dexcom Studio to interpret my data and keep me from going nuts trying to record everything while at the same time, trying to live life. This admission gave me the opportunity to keep very a very accurate log and help myself obtain better BG control.

Do you hate to keep logs as much as I do?? Do you regularly use the software for your D technology to keep track of patterns and trends? Any tips on how I could become a better log keeper, especially when it comes to food logs? Along with laundry, they are the bane of my existence!

And, Remember, CHECK…DON’T GUESS!!

 

Leave a Reply

(Buzz, Buzz) Not My Cell

This is just me blogging randomly about life, all things D, but other junk as well.

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

because my pancreas doesn't work

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

