muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

My Biggest supporter not only T1D but life in general.

on June 22, 2014

I’ve been thinking lately that will the people who support me now in the beginning stages of my T1D journey be there for the long haul. Having had chronic pancreatitis I saw supposed friends come and go over the years but one person has remained strong in his support of me over the years…my husband.

Last week we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. (I can’t believe I’m old enough to say that!!) The card I got him  says,

“We’ve been through a lot together. You’ve seen me at my best, my worst, and first thing in the morning.”

But he truly has seen me at my best and my worst, and that’s not always first thing in the morning!! But despite him experiencing me at my worst more often than I like to admit, he stays with me…and I with him. I can count on him through thick and thin. We have a system that although might not work for others, works for us.

But as I said, this got me to thinking…how many friends will I lose due to yet another chronic disease to contend with. My life with chronic pancreatitis left me with a much smaller circle of friends due to my inability to always be able to keep social plans I made when I was feeling well.

Through all of my medical struggles though, and I think the T1D journey will be no different, I have met and continue to interact with some amazing people. I definitely have learned who my true friends are through all of the ups and downs. I have met some girls through a mutual love of all things sewing and I’m betting they’ll be supporting me through all of the good times and the bad times of the coming years, just as I will continue to support and love them.

I also have come to rely, respect and admire some amazing doctors and nurses that have come to be an integral part of my healthcare team. I’ve fired some less than stellar medical people through my tenure with chronic illness but have a truly remarkable team now that I know I can all upon at a moments notice, just like my husband. Although chronic illness stinks, I have met some amazing people who, if not for the illness, I wouldn’t have met. So, I’m thankful for all of the facets of my life, even the negative stuff.

What is the most positive aspect of your diabetes?? Who is your biggest supporter?

 

Remember, CHECK!! DON’T GUESS!!

Leave a Reply

(Buzz, Buzz) Not My Cell

This is just me blogging randomly about life, all things D, but other junk as well.

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

because my pancreas doesn't work

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

