muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

JDRF Walk: Boston 2014

on September 25, 2014

I’m very excited to be participating in this year’s JDRF Walk here in Boston!!! I’ve joined a team from Diabetes Sisters. I have found a Boston branch of the group of Diabetes Sisters & we’re walking together. I’m excited to be a part of it this year!

Speaking of Diabetes Sisters,  when I found them on Glu, I was interested in joining a Boston chapter if there was one. Low and behold, there is and not only that but the meet in my home town! I had to go and meet all the girls that are already a part of the group. For anyone in the Boston and surrounding communities, we meet the third Wednesday of every month at the Braintree Panera.

The women are lovely and we all have T1D, which is purely by coincidence. My first evening at a meeting, I immediately found my place in the group and fit right in. I’m the T1D newbie in the group and, not surprisingly for anyone that knows me, I asked all those burning questions only another PWD can understand, like “Is it normal to constantly be thinking of carbs?”. I received some sage advice from these girls that I really needed to hear. I just hope one day, I can be the one helping someone new to this game. I’ve gone to two meeting so far and I’m loving it!! it’s really great to be around people who get it!!

We got our T-shirts last week for the JDRF walk this Saturday which made it more real that I’m going to be participating. I hate to admit that I’m a little nervous about the walk, particularly finding everyone at the Hatchshell in Boston!! If what I’m hearing is correct, there will be thousands of walkers & I’m fearful, I’ll never find the members of my support group and Diabetes Sisters in general. I have an email out to our fearless leader to find out where we’re supposed to meet. I shouldn’t be nervous though. If Saturday is anything like the people on the DOC, I’ll meet more friends I never knew before just by being there! Wish me luck on my first walk. I’ll write a post summarizing the day next week.

 

T2D Update:

My friend with T2D has been started on twice a day metformin instead of just once a day and it seems to be working a decent bit, although, he hasn’t continued to check postprandial BG’s. I’ve asked him to pick a meal and to check pre and post meal BG so we can see if the metformin is making a difference there.

Also, my endo’s office sponsors a class for t2D that is run similar to a board game to keep the participants interest and to keep them engaged. Sounds like fun to me. If this class is anything like the T1D class I went to there, it will be awesome! I called my CDE and asked her if my friend and I could attend. Of course, I would be there as his support person. Plus, with these things, it’s better to bring a friend because between the two of us maybe we’ll pick up on things the other didn’t catch. So, I got the go ahead for us to participate, although, I have to mention, his PCP was less than enthusiastic. This doc told him that the classes would just confuse him, so he would prefer my friend not go. Luckily, my friend told his PCP that the class is an ADA certified self management course & that he’s taking part to expand his knowledge, thereby increasing the likelihood he’ll be more successful in his diabetes management. My friend is an intelligent guy. If something is confusing, we can ask for clarification from the presenters. DUH!!!! His PCP relented and wrote the referral. Although, he did so begrudgingly, saying, if you’d just lose the weight you wouldn’t need the classes. My opinion is whether he losses the weight or not, he’s still a T2D, so he’d be smart to learn as much as possible about the disease and it will make it easier for him to keep the weight off when he does lose it by having learned better portion control and other management tactics. Stay tunes for the continuing saga!!

 

 

2 responses to “JDRF Walk: Boston 2014

  1. Karen says:

    Yay!! I love our DOC, but it’s also important to have a real-life support system too. So I’m so glad you found a local DiabetesSisters PODS group. Have a great time at the walk!! (And I think I may have met your PODS leader as the Weekend for Women conference this past Spring.)

  2. n1iwr says:

    Thanks so much, Karen!! The Boston POD group is excellent & a nice way to get some support for all the things I’m doing to manage this beast! And, u probably did meet Sarah. She was there!! She a great person and very down to earth. I’m so thankful she started out POD!!

Leave a Reply

(Buzz, Buzz) Not My Cell

This is just me blogging randomly about life, all things D, but other junk as well.

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

because my pancreas doesn't work

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

