muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

I think I’m definaitely an IDIOT!! (caps intended!!)

on November 23, 2014

I like to think I’m a reasonably intelligent woman or at least I seem to learn quickly. But either I’m losing IQ points since having turned 50, or I’m just an IDIOT!!!

Now, I’m almost 2 yrs into my T1 dance & as u know, I’ve really tried to do my research to understand my new normal, but I seriously made a HUGE misstep and I did it twice!!

I’ll explain… I’m trying to incorporate a daily after dinner walk in an attempt to control my post-prandial highs. Great in theory!!Usually, when I go for a walk whenever, I check a BG and also, carry my meter and stuff and enough Smarties for at least 2 low treatments. Key word here is usually!! I didn’t check my BG, nor did I carry “my kit” of usual suspects this time!!

Luckily, my new walking pattern is after a meal & I do pretreat my insulin at least 10 mins before my meals. So, my BG was likely higher from the meal but I really had no idea. I’m VERY lucky that I didn’t experience a low but I’m angry w myself for “forgetting” to do the usual precautions I normally take. It was really irresponsible!!!

Now, the reason for the capitalized IDIOT!!! Unbelievably, I DID IT AGAIN!!! And, this time I wasn’t so lucky!!! I had a low that produced the “dumb” symptoms I say that I experience. I was walking w a friend, but I couldn’t verbalize that I was low and without my “kit”. She asked me if I was ok but all I could say was, “yah.” So, we parted ways and I very shakily continued the block to my house.

I’m fine but I guess what I’m trying to say is don’t do what I did, TWICE!!! Please, please, please… Take a minute before u go for ur exercise or just running out the door to do an errand & make sure u have what u need to be safe with u!!!!

We all matter!! & I’m selfish & I want u around to read my silly blog!! Thanks for that by the way!!!

Remember, CHECK!!! Don’t guess!!!

And Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!!!
Try an after meal or between courses walk on turkey day, but please bring ur stuff!! Learn from my mistakes!!! I know!!! I’m an IDIOT!!! Don’t be like me!!

2 responses to “I think I’m definaitely an IDIOT!! (caps intended!!)

  1. copd4real says:

    We all get “disease fatigue”, so what you did is compketely understandable. Glad you’ve made a plan to ensure it doesn’t happen again. Be well.

Leave a Reply

(Buzz, Buzz) Not My Cell

This is just me blogging randomly about life, all things D, but other junk as well.

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

because my pancreas doesn't work

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

