muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

Life Can & Will Change in an Instant

on September 27, 2016

It’s been a hell of a week for me!!! Medically, I have been feeling good the last couple of weeks despite a brush w DKA a month ago. ( more about that to come in a near future post) was cruising along when life threw me a couple of curve balls. My extended family lost an aunt & an uncle while at the same time we celebrated my sister’s and her son’s birthdays. After my Aunt’s wake, which was a traditional Irish wake where we celebrated her life, I got home kinda late. I had to be up early to get to the funeral home again for the procession to the church and then the funeral Mass. So, just before the 11:00pm news broadcast, I decided I would take a shower before I went to bed. I’ve been having trouble sleeping and a shower relaxed me which heped me to fall asleep instead of just staring at the ceiling. Plus, I’m SO NOT a morning person and the thought of expending all that energy to take a shower in the morning was exhausting just thinking about it

As I finished up my shower, I tried to step over the tub wall but I must not have lifted my foot up high enough. My toes on my left foot caught the top of that wall and over I went!!! I fell with a loud thud onto the cold and very hard tile floor!!! I landed on my left shoulder which I was afraid I had broken. That would not have been good since I had a shoulder replacement a few years ago. After my shoulder hit the floor, my left hip landed next!!! As I appraised the effect the fall had had on my body, I realized I didn’t have much pain & I could move my left shoulder with only minor discomfort. I decided to stand up! As soon as I put some weight onto my right leg, I fell back onto the tile again!! I made repeated attempts to get up but my right hip kept giving out on me and it would not tolerate any kind of weight put on it. In january of 2015, I had to have my right hip replacement redone because I had developed osteomyelitis in that joint, so I was afraid I had broken &/or shattered my right hip!!

My husband had already gone to bed and was asleep but the noise from me falling woke him. He immediately called out to me asking if I was ok. Of course, I said I was fine but after I realized I wasn’t going to make it out of this bathroom without his help, I rephrased my reply and asked him if he could help me get to our bed. I was deluded into thinking this pain was just from a bruise and it would be better in the morning after some ice & Advil. It’s amazing what a little denial will do.

Fast forward to 2:15am, my hip pain was not letting up. Not only that but the pain was getting worse as I laid there in bed. My other half asked me how I felt and I couldn’t lie!! We decided to call 911 and get an ambulance because I was not going to be able to climb into my hubby’s Tahoe to get to the local hospital. We woke our 25 year old son who still lives at home while he’s working and saving some money & together, father and son carried me downstairs while I was seated on a chair. EMT’s and paramedics carry patients down the stairs in a dwelling by what’s called a “stair chair” & we both had worked as EMT’s for a number of years, so It seemed like the safest and least painful way to get me downstairs while we waited for the ambulance.

Long story short, my right hip was ok!! Not fractures or dislocations but my pelvis was another story. I fractured it in two places and was experiencing massive muscle spasms in my pelvis and thigh area. This wasn’t good!!! I spent five days inpatient at the local hospital and came home walking with crutches three days ago. Needless to say, I didn’t make it to either funeral. But at least I showed up at my aunt’s wake!!

I was in too much pain to throw a pity party for myself the first couple of days after I fell. I was completely overwhelmed trying to manage my ostomy, my insulin pump & still needing to self cath to have much time to feel sorry for myself!! As was my usual issue, my ostomy pouching system failed and exploded the next morning as I was being admitted to the orthopedic floor. And with all the excitement, my blood sugars were thru the roof not responding very well to my correctikn boluses. I did get to do some Diabetes Awareness and education because I had student nurses every day and they were fascinated by my insulin pump and especially my Dexcom G5!! And, when Mr Sandy got there, he blew their minds even further and showed them that not only were my glucose levels displayed on my iPhone but that they were displayed on his iPhone as well!! Even the floor nurses were spell bound by all my D tech!!!

I was relieved to be able to get back home after only a couple of days to be reunited with Indy, my black miniature poodle!! (Of course, as well as my hubby  and son!!) But we soon realized that he was deathly afraid of my crutches!! Even if the were just resting on the wall nearest to me. Much to my broken heart’s dismay, Indy made it a point to stay away from me!!!  I am soooo bummed!!! Even though I’m not using the crutches much for short walks in the house, he still seems weary of me, although earlier tonight he did come to me and sat in my lap for a little while. So, maybe he’s warming up to me now that those scary crutches aren’t being used as much. I still use the crutches when I go out and there will be a decent amount of walking. But although I’m making miraculous progress, I still cannot turn or pivot on my right leg. I can only gingerly walk straight ahead. Driving should be a hoot!!!!

I definitely had the watchful eye of a guardian angel on me the night I fell because my injury could have very certainly been much worse!! And I have AMAZING family and friends who kept my spirits up and I didn’t go a day without someone there to keep me company as I tried to get thru the pain and spasms.

I’m sorry this post doesn’t have much of a D theme but this just helps me to remember that I am NOT my diabetes and my diabetes does not define me. Unfortunately though, I was planning on traveling to Chicago this coming weekend for the Diabetes Sisters Leadership Institute conference. I’m really bummed to not be going but I have to remember that I’m already registered for the February Uncon 2017 followed by another Uncon and Diabetes Sisters Weekend for Women coming up in October of 2017. So there will be other diabetes related trips to go to. Unrelated to my diabetes travel, I have a girl’s trip to Canada after Turkey day with two of my best sewing buddies that I HAVE to be completely healed and mobile for.
Remember to check, NOT guess!!!
Sandy

One response to “Life Can & Will Change in an Instant

  1. copd4real says:

    So glad you’re feeling better. I really expected you to be in rehab for about 90 days. You are Wonder Woman.

Leave a Reply

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

25 year old T1D of 10+ years

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

