muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

8th Annual Diabetes Blog Week, Day #1

on May 16, 2017

Today begins the 8th annual Diabetes Blog week. I have participated once before two years ago & I’m looking forward to participating again this year.

Here goes…

Many things have happened as a result of my surgical type one diagnosis, but not all of it has been negative. Does Diabetes SUCK????? ABSOLUTELY!!!! But I have experienced many positive outcomes as a result of my disease. I am more resilient than I ever would have believed!! I advocate for myself, not just medically, but in every facet of my life. But most especially I have become a traveler. Normally, my life is spent in the Boston area with a few excursions here and there to northern New England, but with this new diagnosis and way of life,  I have found a passion to increase awareness and try to teach anyone willing to listen the basic ins and outs of the many forms of diabetes.

As a result, I have had to increase my working knowledge of the disease in its many forms and to do this, I have traveled to a few INCREDIBLE conferences. My first after diagnosis was Friends For Life. If you haven’t been to this AMAZING conference, I would highly recommend you check it out!! It’s put on by the Children With Diabetes organization and they have tracks for both the children touched by diabetes, patients, as well as siblings and friends, and adults because children with diabetes grow up to be adults with diabetes. It was at this conference I came to know the feeling of being in a room with many people who “Get it”, that understand what it’s like to live with diabetes day in and day out. I’ve never felt so included by a group of people in my life. This NEVER would have happened without me living with D.

In 2015, a nursing friend and I traveled to New Orleans for the AADE , the American Association of Diabetes Educators conference. At first I was a little intimidated going to this conference because unlike my friend, I was not a Certified Diabetes Educator (CDE). I was just a plain ole Registered Nurse. But the conference had much to offer me in both my role as an RN and as a person with diabetes (PWD).

I guess what I’m trying to say without boring you to death with all the details of every conference I’ve attended is that I NEVER would have attended these amazing educational opportunities if I had not had my pancreas removed and became a PWD. I also have met some AMAZING  people since my diagnosis, both with and without diabetes and the people that live with this disease, both the patients as well as their loved ones, have taught me the most about how to live with the uncertainties of every day life with D. Nursing school and my career helped lay the foundation of the working knowledge of my disease. But the people I have met along the way have helped shape that foundation into a way of life that I consider to be successful for me.

I’m blessed in ways I never would have believed before my surgery & I’ve come to know that even though living with D SUCKS big time, there are many hidden blessings that come my way every day and I would do nothing to change that.

 

2 responses to “8th Annual Diabetes Blog Week, Day #1

  1. Karen says:

    Fantastic hidden blessings!!! ❤️❤️

  2. Rick Phillips says:

    Terrific blessings. I believe ti is the people and the stories that make the world a happy place to be.

Leave a Reply

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

25 year old T1D of 10+ years

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

