muddybrooks

My experiences post total pancreatectomy.

Blog Week Day #4- What makes dealing with diabetes and emotional issue for u & how do you cope.

on May 19, 2017

I can’t believe it’s already day #4 of Blog Week!!!! It’s going by WAY TOO FAST!!!! Maybe we can #blamePete!!!!

In my daily management of my diabetes, I assign emotional value to my blood sugar readings!!!! I know I shouldn’t!! I know it is just a number that allows me to make a decision about what I need to do in the near future to keep my blood sugars in range. But I feel badly when I’m out of range and I blame myself for “being a BAD diabetic”!!!

Mr Sandy follows my Dexcom numbers on his phone so he knows at all times what my blood sugar is doing. He’ll send me a text if I’m really far out of range just to make sure I’m aware of my number. But I always feel guilty that maybe I didn’t wait long enough to eat after I prebolused, for example. Or if I’m low, how did I not count my carbs right and take the correct amount of insulin.

I read Dr Stephen Ponder’s book, Sugar Surfing, and I have been trying to apply those principles to my daily management but I can’t seem to attain the in range numbers that are shown in the book. Does this make me a bad diabetic?? Unfortunately, my brain immediately goes too blaming myself for the out of range number. But my heart knows I’m trying my best to manage and the number is JUST A NUMBER!!!! I wish I didn’t do this but It’s just how it goes for me!!! YDMV-Your Diabetes May Vary.

I’m working on this and I’m always telling myself that I am not defined by my numbers!! It’s just a number that helps me to make treatment decisions. But I’m a work in progress and I haven’t gotten to the point yet that my numbers don’t carry an emotional value.

My diabetes medical team is AWESOME and just takes my numbers as points on a graph that helps them evaluate how I’m doing. I never get the “Blame Game” from them. It’s just me but hopefully someday I’ll get where my numbers are just that, numbers & not a source of guilt.

Leave a Reply

See Jen Dance

Lifestyles of the Recovering Ballroom Addict with a Robot Pancreas

inDpendence

Sometimes Diabetes Takes Center Stage

Push My Buttons to Turn Me On

Pushing buttons to stay alive because my pancreas is too lazy

d-meanderings

meandering through lada diabetes

Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Searching for the right balance between the highs and lows of diabetes

The Chronic Scholar

Bridging Patient Experience and The Ivory Tower

the.insulin.type

25 year old T1D of 10+ years

Test Guess and Go

Even with testing, diabetes is a guess every day.

Diabetes Stories

It's Time To Flourish With Diabetes

What Sarah Said

Musings and reflections from the head and the heart of a twentysomething living life with T1D

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

SHSL

My life with Type 1 diabetes

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

photograbetic

a type 1 diabetic photographer

No More Shots for Shannon

That's a goal.... not yet a reality.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Mo is blogging...I think

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sew Much To Do

Quilting. Loving. Healing.

